

A1.4.2 Section 2. Membership

All members of the University and Administrative Faculty other than those excluded below are eligible for election to the Faculty Senate. In addition, the Provost and all deans shall be ex officio members of the Faculty Senate and shall not hold Senate office. Any eligible faculty member may put their name forward for election.

The membership of the Faculty Senate shall be set forth in the Bylaws of the Faculty Senate, and shall include proportional representation from all programs/divisions of the University. Members from each program/division shall be elected by the faculty during an election held annually.

Faculty employed less than twelve (12) months are not eligible for election as Senators and are not eligible to vote in the election of the Faculty Senate or to serve on its standing committees. In addition, University Faculty on authorized leave of absences shall not be eligible to serve on the Faculty Senate or its standing committees during such period of leave.

Revised 6/28/2014 – Board of Regents Revised 12/6/19 – President

A1.4.3 Section 3. Election and Appointment to the Senate

The Faculty Senate shall include members as defined in the Bylaws.

These members shall be elected by the faculty during general elections held annually in July. The elections shall be held in accordance with procedures defined in the Bylaws. Two (2) part-time faculty members may be elected to represent the part-time faculty. Special elections shall be held to fill vacancies or for other sufficient reason as determined by the Executive Committee.

The official list of full-time faculty appointments shall be used in any election of regular senators. The official list of part-time faculty shall be used in the election of the part-time faculty senator.

No candidate shall be declared elected unless they have received a majority of the votes cast.

Any question or dispute concerning general or special elections, eligibility to vote, assignment to a constituency, or other election procedures, shall be resolved by the Executive Committee.



At the request of the Faculty Senate, one (1) student may be appointed by the President of the Associated Student Body (ASB) as an ex officio member of the Faculty Senate.

In the event that a student representative's office becomes vacant, the ASB may appoint a replacement by direction of their elected officers.

A1.4.4 Section 4. Term of Office

The term of office shall be one (1) year. Each member of the Senate shall take office at the beginning of the Fall trimester and shall serve through the Summer trimester. No person shall hold the same office for more than four (4) consecutive terms.

A1.4.5 Section 5. Vacancies, Absences, and Substitutes

Any vacancy shall be filled by a special election, except that if the vacancy is for an unexpired term of ninety (90) days or less, it shall be optional with the program/division concerned to leave the vacancy unfilled for the balance of such term.

An elected Senator who does not attend two (2) consecutive meetings and misses more than four meetings per term of office shall forfeit appointment to the Senate, and a replacement shall be elected from the appropriate program/division.

Departments can designate substitutes who may attend and vote at Faculty Senate meetings when the member elected by the program/division is unable to attend.

Revised 6/28/2014 – Board of Regents

Senators: Henry Hwang (EMD), Hiwot Melka (UHC), Hector Rivera-Melo (LACC) - Terms follow the academic year and end August 30 (per A1.4.5).